Scrabble Australia

The WESPA Scrabble Championship 2019

Selective events 2019

WESPAC is a prestige invitational event in the spirit of the World Scrabble Championship. The first such event was held in Perth in 2015, and it is intended that it should take place under the supervision of WESPA every odd year. This time the location is Goa, India from 16 to 20 October, 2019.

Selecting Australia's team for 2019

A team of thirteen Australians will be selected by ASPA to play in the 2019 WESPAC. This is in addition to players selected by WESPA, which includes the WESPA Top 5 at some cutoff date. Our David Eldar is likely to be selected in this way. More details of these other ways to qualify here.

Qualifying period The qualifying period is the twelve month span from 1 May 2018 to 30 April 2019.
Eligibility: You must be an Australian citizen or permanent resident on 30 June 2019, and be a financial member of ASPA on 30 June 2019.

Selection by major titles

A maximum of two eligible players are selected by tournament success, namely

(1) The winner of the 2018 Australian Masters.
(2) The highest placed eligible Australian in the 2019 Australian Championship.

Players who qualify this way must also play 90 games recognised by ASPA during the qualifying period.

If any of these berths is unfilled for any reason, the place is taken by another player selected via ratings.

Players who qualify via ratings

All remaining eligible places will be determined by ratings as follows
  1. The method of ranking candidates is by the three peak statistic (the Q statistic) described below.
  2. Players may appeal to CASPA for a special dispensation in exceptional circumstances.
  3. In the event of any unforeseen issue the decision of CASPA is final.

The three peaks Q statistic

The primary criterion for ranking candidates is the Q statistic calculated like this:

  1. Subperiods are May to Aug 2018, Sep 2018 to Dec 2019 and Jan to Apr 2019.
  2. The Qstat: The qualifying statistic is Q = (P1 + P2 + 2 x P3)/4 , which is a weighted average of peak ratings in the three subperiods.
  3. Third peak: You cannot earn the peak in the third subperiod until you have played 60 games rated by ASPA in the qualification period.
  4. Penalty: If you do not earn a peak in a subperiod , your peak in that subperiod is equal to the last rating minus 200. There is no requirement about how often this may be applied.
  5. Games quota: You must play at least 90 games recognised by ASPA or WESPA in the qualification period.
  6. Multiday tournament which spans two subperiods will be treated for peak and game count as occurring on the first day.
  7. Missed games: If you miss a game in a tournament for any reason other than an assigned bye, you cannot count a peak attained in that tournament for any qualification purposes. Games played will count towards games quotas. Ratings will be calculated as usual, with byes and forfeits not rated.

If two players have the same Q statistic, the one with the greater number of games in the qualification period is ranked higher.

13 quota
Games Q Stat
Peak (games)
Peak (games)
Peak (games)
1. Chris May (NSW) 71 2028.002008 (47)2048 (24)
2. Andrew Fisher (VIC) 76 2015.502001 (48)2030 (28)
3. Edward Okulicz (NSW) 33 2010.002010 (33)
David Eldar (VIC) In WESPA top 5 0 1982.00*1982 (0)
4. Trevor Halsall (VIC) 48 1956.001977 (30)1935 (18)
5. Naween Fernando (VIC) 54 1949.001934 (37)1964 (17)
6. Cameron Farlow (QLD) 80 1934.001923 (32)1945 (48)
7. Esther Perrins (NSW) 60 1920.001949 (18)1891 (42)
8. Peter Kougi (VIC) 42 1918.501884 (7)1953 (35)
9. Michael Cameron (SA) 25 1868.501864 (5)1873 (20)
10. Daniel Piechnick (SA) 70 1864.001916 (37)1812 (33)
11. Anand Bharadwaj (VIC) 42 1850.501830 (28)1871 (14)
12. Michael McKenna (ACT) 7 1850.001850 (7)
14. Jakob Teitelbaum (ACT) 43 1819.501818 (4)1821 (39)
15. Joanne Craig (NSW) 107✓ 1811.501815 (57)1808 (50)
16. Bob Jackman (NSW) 119✓ 1793.001772 (43)1814 (76)
17. Adam Kretschmer (SA) 96✓ 1786.501786 (47)1787 (49)
18. John Holgate (NSW) 106✓ 1770.501793 (62)1748 (44)
20. Wayne Jones (NSW) 93✓ 1747.001762 (39)1732 (54)

International games:

Missed a peak
David Eldar (VIC) (currently rated 2182) Peak 1 = 2182−200

Recently processed:
11.11.2018 November (QLD)
17.11.2018 SA November (SA)
18.11.2018 NOV OPEN (WA) New peak for Russell Honeybun
19.11.2018 Nov MONDAY EVENING (NSW)
24.11.2018 November Pub Tourney (SA) New peak for Michael Cameron
25.11.2018 Central Coast Championship (NSW)
25.11.2018 Southport Christmas (QLD)