Pending WESPA announcement

Scrabble Australia

The WESPA Online Scrabble Championship 2021

WESPA Online Scrabble Championship

This is still in planning stages. It will have 120 players from many countries competing. It will be an online event with video supervision. This method has already been used for a virtual World Youth Scrabble Championship. The lexicon will be Collins Scrabble Words 2019, and the game playing platform will be a tournament room on The hardest part is trying to cope with time zones, but various ideas are being canvassed.

Selecting Australia's team for 2021

A team of eight Australians will be selected by ASPA to play in the 2021 Online WESPAC. The qualifying period is the five month span from 1 Jan 2021 to 31 May 2021.
Eligibility: You must be an Australian citizen or permanent resident on 31 May 2021, and be a financial member of ASPA on 31 May 2021.

  1. The method of ranking candidates is by a two peak statistic (the Q statistic) described below..
  2. Players may appeal to CASPA for a special dispensation in exceptional circumstances.
  3. In the event of any unforeseen issue the decision of CASPA is final.

The twin peaks Q statistic

The primary criterion for ranking candidates is the Q statistic calculated like this:

  1. Subperiods are Jan to Feb and Mar to May in 2021.
  2. The Qstat: The qualifying statistic is Q = (P1 + 2*P2)/3 , which is a weighted average of peak ratings in the two subperiods.
  3. Missed peak: There is no penalty for missing a peak.
  4. Number of games: There is no requirement for a certain number of games, but you need to play at least one rated tournament between January 1 and May 31
  5. Multiday tournament which spans two subperiods will be treated for peak and game count as occurring on the first day.
  6. Missed games: If you miss a game in a tournament for any reason other than an assigned bye, you cannot count a peak attained in that tournament for any qualification purposes. Games played will count towards games quotas. Ratings will be calculated as usual, with byes and forfeits not rated.

If two players have the same Q statistic, the one with the greater number of games in the qualification period is ranked higher.

8 quota
Games Q Stat
Peak (games)
Peak (games)
1. David Eldar (VIC) 37 2146.002146 (37)
2. Chris May (NSW) 42 2078.002078 (42)
NO Jakob Teitelbaum (ACT) 36 2040.002040 (36)
3. Andrew Fisher (VIC) 31 2027.002027 (31)
4. Anand Bharadwaj (VIC) 14 1966.001966 (14)
5.MAYBE Esther Perrins (NSW) 42 1962.001962 (42)
6. Naween Fernando (VIC) 7 1938.001938 (7)
7. Peter Kougi (VIC) 30 1924.001924 (30)
8. Trevor Halsall (VIC) 29 1901.001901 (29)
9. Edward Okulicz (VIC) 13 1885.001885 (13)
10. Cameron Farlow (QLD) 40 1880.001880 (40)
11. Daniel Piechnick (SA) 36 1865.001865 (36)
12. Joanne Craig (NSW) 76 1802.001802 (76)
13. Michael Cameron (SA) 0 1797.00
14. Adam Kretschmer (SA) 40 1757.001757 (40)
16. Victor Tung (NSW) 58 1749.001749 (58)
17. Mythili Rudra (VIC) 30 1740.001740 (30)
18. Rod Talbot (NSW) 88 1735.001735 (88)
19. Wayne Jones (NSW) 0 1732.00
20. Ron Baginski (QLD) 0 1724.00

Recently processed:
14.03.2021 Joy Deans Memorial (WA)
14.03.2021 NO FRILLS 2 (NSW)
14.03.2021 Teams Challenge (VIC)
20.03.2021 Nationals Warmup (ACT) New peak for Jakob Teitelbaum
20.03.2021 Ross March (TAS)
03.04.2021 OZ CHAMPS (NSW) New peak for Chris May, Jakob Teitelbaum, Cameron Farlow
11.04.2021 SA April (SA)