Twenty of the top players will play the Australian Masters as a round robin in Sydney, on Sep 2-3 2023. The venue is the Revesby Workers Club.
At the same time, teams of three players from each of seven states or territories would play the State Team Challenge as head-to-head matches.
The lexicon is that which is used in the majority of states (probably Collins Scrabble Words 2019).

Rule variation

Masters section has 5 point penalty for each word challenged but correct.

The contenders

The table below shows the teams according to qualification criteria set by the Council of the Australian Scrabble Players Association.

Australian Masters

The selection comprises the best twenty active players (those players who have played at least one game during the qualification period) ranked by Q statistic.

State Team Challenge

Each state team will comprise three eligible players who have not already been selected for the Masters event and are the next best three from their state, ranked by Q statistic.
If insufficient eligible players are available, the state will not be permitted to participate in the State Team Challenge for that year unless a maximum of one stand-in can be fielded before the tournament from any state (generally, but not necessarily, that state in which the tournament takes place). That stand-in must also meet the above criteria.
An eligible stand-in may also be fielded in the event of illness or other unforeseen circumstance during the tournament.

Selection by ratings

The primary criterion for ranking candidates is the Q statistic

Players may appeal to CASPA for a special dispensation in exceptional circumstances. In the event of any unforeseen issue the decision of CASPA is final.

The Qstat is Q = (P1 + P2 + 2 x P3)/4 where P1, P2, P3 are peaks from Jun to Sep, Oct to Jan and Feb to May. Extrapolated Qstat is shown, together with the peak(games) in each period. 40 games required.

Australian Masters

Q Stat
Games Peak (games)
Jun to Sep
Peak (games)
Oct to Jan
Peak (games)
Feb to May
Chris May (NSW) 1996.50*57✓ 1844(0)2052(24)2045(33)
Andrew Fisher (VIC) 1984.5088✓ 1971(28)2017(31)1975(29)
Naween Fernando (VIC) 1978.00130✓ 1949(49)1961(45)2001(36)
Cameron Farlow (QLD) 1943.50148✓ 1975(43)1927(40)1936(65)
Edward Okulicz (VIC) 1929.25144✓ 1930(53)1931(55)1928(36)
Peter Kougi (VIC) 1900.0057✓ 1903(19)1905(14)1896(24)
Esther Perrins (NSW) 1894.00145✓ 1888(18)1904(94)1892(33)
Anand Bharadwaj (VIC) 1882.00*16   1982(16)1782(0)
Trevor Halsall (VIC) 1840.00111✓ 1803(40)1821(42)1868(29)
Joanne Craig (NSW) YES 1828.00294✓ 1783(60)1825(113)1852(121)
Daniel Piechnick (SA) 1818.00111✓ 1824(34)1816(31)1816(46)
Victor Tung (NSW) 1774.00125✓ 1682(18)1840(98)1787(9)
Bob Jackman (NSW) 1764.75252✓ 1776(54)1783(131)1750(67)
Rod Talbot (NSW) 1762.50261✓ 1806(65)1766(122)1739(74)
John Holgate (NSW) YES 1743.75227✓ 1780(47)1719(122)1738(58)
Adam Kretschmer (SA) 1730.0088✓ 1705(22)1733(38)1741(28)
Stephen Mooney Purse(TAS) 1716.0031   1712(8)1720(23)

State Challenge

Q Stat
Games Peak (games)
Jun to Sep
Peak (games)
Oct to Jan
Peak (games)
Feb to May
Ryan Sutton (NSW1) YES 1705.00*154✓ 1581(0)1777(107)1731(47)
Nick Ivanovski (VIC1) 1686.2565✓ 1650(19)1723(28)1686(18)
Jane Taylor (SA1) YES 1674.25290✓ 1658(83)1679(124)1680(83)
Ronnie Bennett (ACT1) 1674.0090✓ 1633(7)1663(51)1700(32)
Tony Hunt (NSW2) 1673.25293✓ 1727(67)1624(133)1671(93)
John Spaan (ACT2) YES 1643.2569✓ 1671(23)1618(30)1642(16)
Rael Hayman (NSW3) 1632.75*168✓ 1397(0)1724(88)1705(80)
Noel Barrett (ACT3) 1631.75236✓ 1602(60)1649(112)1638(64)
Geoff Wright (VIC2) 1617.00159✓ 1632(44)1684(47)1576(68)
Karen Richards (QLD1) YES 1616.75330✓ 1626(93)1611(158)1615(79)
Paul Richards (QLD2) YES 1610.00280✓ 1577(75)1597(143)1633(62)
Graeme Lock Lee (NSW4) 1601.50138✓ 1471(25)1567(65)1684(48)
Carmel Dodd (SA2) YES 1593.25220✓ 1563(68)1568(69)1621(83)
Nat Podesser (VIC3) 1583.50*80✓ 1616(56)1416(0)1651(24)
Dianne Brumby (TAS1) 1562.50152✓ 1559(43)1553(48)1569(61)
Wayne Jones (NSW5) 1560.00*13   1660(13)1460(0)
Jane Brown (QLD3) 1548.75105✓ 1593(58)1550(17)1526(30)
Trevor Tao (SA3) 1545.00*21   1356(0)1574(5)1625(16)
Helen Hynes (QLD4) 1543.5015   1556(10)1531(5)
Antony Kimber (SA4) 1535.00184✓ 1545(29)1555(70)1520(85)
Alistair Kane (VIC4) 1523.50*10   1434(0)1613(10)
Dianne Davis (VIC5) 1516.75120✓ 1531(41)1562(43)1487(36)
Liz Blanch (QLD5) 1514.75174✓ 1523(72)1534(39)1501(63)
Norma Fisher (VIC6) 1511.00198✓ 1543(68)1509(83)1496(47)
Greg Pinchbeck (NSW6) 1497.50230✓ 1447(46)1475(120)1534(64)
Martin Rose (TAS2) 1495.00100✓ 1515(59)1461(15)1502(26)
Michael Vnuk (SA5) 1493.75102✓ 1571(28)1440(17)1482(57)
Khen Meerding (TAS3) 1478.5059✓ 1550(36)1407(23)
Julie Brice (QLD6) 1468.2552✓ 1493(23)1484(5)1448(24)
Tony Williams (ACT4) 1452.0084✓ 1444(18)1460(66)
Tony Miller (SA6) 1441.50*51✓ 1341(0)1549(15)1438(36)
Ros Wilkinson (TAS4) 1421.2552✓ 1410(4)1473(23)1401(25)
Jon Ford-King (TAS5) 1414.00101✓ 1512(42)1366(23)1389(36)
Margaret Webb (TAS6) 1371.5023   1366(14)1377(9)
Caroline Scowcroft (ACT5) 1313.75200✓ 1373(40)1242(83)1320(77)
Susan MacGillivray (ACT6) 1297.0040✓ 1342(7)1316(9)1265(24)

Not going: David Eldar, Rocky Sharma, John Hamilton
Recently processed:
06.05.2023 BURWOOD NO FRILLS (NSW) New peak for John Holgate
13.05.2023 Sat Sessions May (SA) New peak for Carmel Dodd
14.05.2023 Queensland May (QLD) New peak for Karen Richards
21.05.2023 East Coast Two Day (SA) New peak for Martin Rose
21.05.2023 May 4-4 Option (SA) New peak for Daniel Piechnick, Carmel Dodd
21.05.2023 Melville 2023 (WA) New peak for Chris Hall, Dianne Ward